Facebook users targeted by malware video player trick

IT security specialist Finjan has warned users to be wary of an application targeting people on Facebook.

IT security specialist Finjan has warned users to be wary of an application targeting people on Facebook.

The company warned that a fake Facebook site is using malicious Javascript based on an old "Flash Player upgrade installation" trick to entice the user to download an upgrade in order to watch a video. Finjan said the upgrade is actually malware containing the CAPTCHA pop-up.

The malware copies a couple files to C:\Windows, deletes itself and creates a few Registry keys. F-Secure has detected the malware as Trojan:W32/Agent.MDN.

With millions of people connected on Facebook, and the fact that the site allows people to share images, video pictures and applications, users are increasingly being targeted by hackers attempting to exploit social networking to spread malware. URL filtering software, which contains whitelists of sites users are allowed to visit or blacklists rogue sites, can stop users inadvertently going tom a site that infects their PCs.

Read more on Hackers and cybercrime prevention

SearchCIO
SearchSecurity
SearchNetworking
SearchDataCenter
SearchDataManagement
Close