GCHQ certifies six cyber-security masters degrees


GCHQ certifies six cyber-security masters degrees

Karl Flinders

GCHQ has certified six masters degrees focused on cyber security, as the government attempts to develop the expertise required to make the UK safe as part of the National Cyber Security Programme.

Courses at Edinburgh Napier University, Lancaster University, University of Oxford and Royal Holloway (University of London) have been certifies and Cranfield University and University of Surrey courses have received provisional certified status.


Independent chair of the panel that assessed applications, Nigel Smart, professor of Cryptology at the University of Bristol, said more universities will be certified.

“For the first time, UK universities that become certified will have a means to promote the quality of the cyber security they teach. Over the next few years, as GCHQ certification is applied to more specialised areas of Cyber Security, I expect the number of UK universities achieving certification of their Master’s degrees to increase, thereby helping to raise the overall standard of teaching in Cyber Security at Master's level.

Later this year the programme will be extended to degrees that are focused on critical areas of cyber security such as digital forensics.

Francis Maude, minister for the Cabinet Office, said: “We want to make the UK one of the safest places in the world to do business online. Through the excellent work of GCHQ, in partnership with other government departments, the private sector and academia, we are able to counter threats and ensure together we are stronger and more aware.”

Email Alerts

Register now to receive ComputerWeekly.com IT-related news, guides and more, delivered to your inbox.
By submitting your personal information, you agree to receive emails regarding relevant products and special offers from TechTarget and its partners. You also agree that your personal information may be transferred and processed in the United States, and that you have read and agree to the Terms of Use and the Privacy Policy.

COMMENTS powered by Disqus  //  Commenting policy