British Computer Society announces IT professional awards shortlist

The British Computer Society (BCS) has announced the shortlist for its prestigious IT Professional Awards.

The British Computer Society (BCS) has announced the shortlist for its prestigious IT Professional Awards. 

Some 70 medallists made it to the final stage of the awards which are sponsored by Computer Weekly. The winners will be announced in December at a gala evening for over 1500 guests at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London.

David Clarke, BCS CEO said, “The diversity of entries this year has been impressive with projects from IT suppliers as well as from the end user community. We have been very impressed by the high quality of all the projects and the judges certainly have their work cut out to find the overall winners from the medallists who have reached this stage.”

The shortlist:

President's Award

Investment in Information Security
Sponsored by McAfee
Project Guardian, Anite Public Sector Ltd
Preventing (DDoS) attacks against the Betfair website, Betfair
Security Management Programme, Liverpool Direct Ltd (LDL)
Two-Factor Two-Way AuthenticationTM, Alliance & Leicester plc

Business Achievement Awards

Financial, Insurance and Professional Services
Two-Factor Two-Way AuthenticationTM, Alliance & Leicester plc
New Improved Car Insurance (NICI), Direct Line Group, RBS Insurance
Abacus, LogicaCMG
S90 Release, Post Office Ltd

Public Sector, Not for Profit & Charitable Organisations
Connect Mann Programme, Isle of Man Government
Enquiries to Registration E2R, Newcastle University
eRDM, Scottish Executive

Retail, Commercial & Manufacturing
National Rail Fares and Retail Publications Project, Association of Train Operating Companies
Data Integration (Informatica), The Carphone Warehouse/Informatica Corporation
TechBuild 05 Service Improvement Programme, ITV plc
CoreB, JJ Food Service Ltd

Small Organisations
The eCourier System, eCourier UK Ltd
Resolve Shipping Quotation System, Mail Boxes Etc
Project Destiny, Miller Brands (UK) Ltd

BCS Business Achievement Award 2006
The BCS Business Achievement Flagship Award will be awarded to the Business Achievement Award entry which has demonstrated the greatest beneficial impact for the organisation.

GCS Women in IT Award
Sponsored by GCS
West Dunbartonshire Council
London Borough of Barking and Dagenham
AstraZeneca plc - Discovery Information

Technology Awards

AppSense Application Manager, AppSense Ltd
Enterprise Engineer 3.5, McLaren Software
Workforce Management Solutions for the Real-Time Enterprise, Smart Human Logistics
Interactive Poster, Visual Planet
Sponsored by IBM UK
RNLI Sea Safety System, Active Web Solutions (AWS)
Quality Assurance for IPTV, BT Group Research & Venturing
Digital Tachograph Project, Intercede Ltd
Sky by Broadband, ioko

Two-Factor Two-Way AuthenticationTM, Alliance & Leicester plc
Core Web Security, Royal Bank of Scotland, Trexy Ltd

RegenTV, IBM UK Ltd
IAGmanager, Nextstep in Lancashire in partnership with Reidmark
StartHere, StartHere
Entente - Data on cancer incidence, prevalence & survival, Thames Cancer Registry

The BT Innovation Flagship Award for Technology 2006
For the most innovative Medallist of the four Technology categories

Mobile Computing Award
Vehicle Tracking System, LondonWaste Ltd
BASCO 'Lambing using GT Mobile', Graham Technology
Integrated Wi-Fi for The Royal Hospitals, Belfast, The Royal Hospitals
RNLI Sea Safety System, Active Web Solutions Ltd

Individual Excellence Awards

Young IT Practitioner of the Year Award
Sponsored by THUS
Paul Cheek, TeamSpirit Software Ltd
Mark Alexander, Graham Technology Plc
Saqib Shaikh, Microsoft Corporation
Iain McGinniss, Graham Technology Plc

IT Trainer of the Year Award
Sponsored by Training Synergy

Michelle Mook, Matrix Forty Two
Dave Britt, QA InterQuad
Edmund Lepre, Happy Computers Ltd
Nick Noble, LogicaCMG

The Deloitte IT Director for the Year - 250 or more employees
Sponsored by Deloitte
(In association with The Institute of Directors)
Simon Kosminsky, SJ Berwin LLP
David Matthewman, Norwich and Peterborough Building Society
Al-Noor Ramji, BT Group/BT Exact a.k.a. One IT
David Brown, Scottish Water

IT Director of the Year Award - 249 or fewer employees
Sponsored by
(In association with The Institute of Directors)
Tony Pearson, Proteus Software
Paul Broome, i-CD Publishing ( and corporate 192)
Chris Thorn, Chameleon Net
Neil Pearson, Hotcourses Ltd

The PMR Project Manager of the Year Award
Sponsored by PMR

Lachlan Macdonald, The Royal Bank of Scotland Group
Rob Wetherill, The Royal Bank of Scotland Group
Mike Moore, Calibrand, the currency for talent
Ray Jackson, Post Office Ltd

IT Developer of the Year Award
Sponsored by InterSystems
Richard Jones, Anglia Business Solutions
Mark O'Farrell, Farrellsoft Ltd
Jason Cole, The Royal Bank of Scotland Group
Meeraj Kunnumpurath, Voca

IT Service Manager of the Year Award
Sponsored by itSMF

Simon Wright, Rail Settlement Plan Ltd
Dave Roberts, Retail Assist Ltd
Paul James, Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council
Rick Godbolt, Lloyds TSB Group
The Awards Presentation Ceremony will take place at The Grosvenor House Hotel, London on 7 December 2006


Vote for your IT greats

Who have been the most influential people in IT in the past 40 years? The greatest organisations? The best hardware and software technologies? As part of Computer Weekly’s 40th anniversary celebrations, we are asking our readers who and what has really made a difference?

Vote now at:

This was last published in July 2006



Enjoy the benefits of CW+ membership, learn more and join.

Read more on IT risk management

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Please create a username to comment.