UKtech50 2015 - Vote for the most influential person in UK IT

Tell us who you think should be selected as the most influential person in the UK tech scene for 2015 - submit your vote now

Computer Weekly has launched the sixth annual UKtech50, the definitive list of the real movers and shakers in UK IT - the CIOs, industry executives, public servants and business leaders driving the creation of a high-tech economy.

We want your vote for the person you think should top the list this year. Our expert judging panel has selected a shortlist of 50 leaders, shown below - chosen from more than 100 nominations; suggested by readers, the Computer Weekly team, and the judges themselves.

We will reveal the winner at a special event in London on 2 December, where we count down that list to announce the most influential person in UK IT over the next 12 months. You can find out more about the UKtech50 event and register to attend by clicking here.

Whoever comes on top of the list will be the person that, in the opinion of our judges and the reader vote, holds the most influence over the future of the UK IT sector in 2015 – and hence the future of IT professionals across the country.

Read more about UKtech50 2015 here, and submit your vote now - simply click on the button next to the person you wish to vote for, and click the Submit button below the list. Voting closes at 5pm on 13 November 2015.

 Note: You will only be able to vote once, and subsequently the list will be hidden from view on further visits - so, for reference, here is the full list of names on the shortlist, in alphabetical order:

  • Angela Morrison, CIO, Direct Line Group
  • Beverley Bryant, Director of Strategic Systems and Technology, NHS England
  • Carl Dawson, CIO, Marks & Spencer
  • Catherine Doran, CIO, Royal Mail Group
  • Charles Ewen, CIO, Met Office
  • Chi Onwurah, Labour MP, Shadow digital economy minister
  • Christina Scott, CIO, Financial Times
  • Christine Ashton, SVP Technology, Thomson Reuters
  • Dame Wendy Hall, Professor of Computer Science at University of Southampton
  • Darryl West, CIO, HSBC
  • Derek White, Chief Design & Digital Officer, Barclays
  • Didier Lebrat, CTO, Sky
  • Eben Upton, Founder, Raspberry Pi Foundation
  • Ed Vaizey, Minister of State for Culture and the Digital Economy
  • Eileen Burbidge, Government special envoy for fintech; Tech City chair; VC, Passion Capital
  • Gavin Patterson, CEO, BT
  • Gerard Grech, CEO, Tech City
  • Gerry Pennell, Director of IT, Manchester University
  • Helen Milner, CEO, Tinder Foundation
  • Jacqueline de Rojas, TechUK president; Area VP Northern Europe, Citrix
  • James Findlay, CIO HS2; Technology leader, Department for Transport
  • Jane Moran, CIO, Unilever
  • Joanna Shields, Minister for internet safety and security
  • John Finch, CIO, Bank of England
  • John Manzoni, CEO, HM Civil Service
  • Julian David, CEO, TechUK
  • Kevin Cunnington, Director General for Business Transformation, Department for Work and Pensions
  • Liam Maxwell, Government CTO
  • Maggie Philbin, CEO TeenTech, Leader of UK Digital Skills TaskForce
  • Mark Dearnley, Chief digital and information officer, HM Revenue & Customs
  • Martha Lane Fox, Entrepreneur, founder of Dot Everyone; Chair, Go On UK
  • Matthew Hancock, Cabinet Office Minister
  • Mayank Prakash, Director general for digital technology, Department for Work and Pensions
  • Michael Ibbitson, CIO, Gatwick Airport
  • Mike Stone, CIO, Ministry of Defence
  • Paul Clarke, Director of technology, Ocado
  • Paul Coby, IT director, John Lewis
  • Paul Fletcher, CEO, BCS the Chartered Institute for IT
  • Phil Smith, Cisco UK CEO; chair of Innovate UK; chair of Tech Partnership
  • Ralph Rivera, Director of Future Media, BBC
  • Robert Hannigan, Director, GCHQ
  • Russ Shaw, Founder of TechLondonAdvocates
  • Sarah Wilkinson, CTO at the Home Office
  • Sharon White, CEO, Ofcom
  • Sherry Coutu, Angel Invester and founder of Founders4Schools
  • Simon Segars, CEO, ARM Holdings
  • Stephen Foreshew-Cain, Executive director, Government Digital Service
  • Susan Cooklin, CIO, Network Rail
  • Tim Berners-Lee, World Wide Web inventor; director of Open Data Institute
  • Tony Singleton, Director, Digital Commercial Programme, Government Digital Service



Editor's note: The final UKtech50 list will be chosen by combining the decision of the judging panel with the votes of our readers. The combined reader vote will carry the same weight as that of one judge, and will provide the UK IT professional input into the order of the list. The editor's decision on the UKtech50 list will be final.

Read more on CW500 and IT leadership skills