Facebook resets its privacy settings

Facebook has made changes to its privacy settings, removing regional networks and giving users more control over each piece of content.

Facebook has made changes to its privacy settings, removing regional networks and giving users more control over each piece of content.

Founder Mark Zuckerberg wrote an open letter on the company's blog, saying the networks model made privacy too complicated.

He said: "The plan we've come up with is to remove regional networks completely and create a simpler model for privacy control where you can set content to be available to only your friends, friends of your friends, or everyone."

The networks model revolves around the idea that users might want to share content with people in their region, school, university or company.

Zuckerberg said: "This worked well when Facebook was mostly used by students, since it made sense that a student might want to share content with fellow students.

"However, as Facebook has grown, some of these regional networks now have millions of members and we've concluded that this is no longer the best way for you to control your privacy."

The company is also adding the ability to control who sees every piece of content that users create or upload.

Facebook's privacy policy has been the subject of much debate and criticism over the past couple of years. The company has been working to address the issue for months and Zuckerberg said it is important for users to read the new settings carefully and choose what's right for them.

He said: "The best way for you to find the right settings is to read through all your options and customise them for yourself. I encourage you to do this and consider who you're sharing with online."

Read more on E-commerce technology

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.

-ADS BY GOOGLE

SearchCIO

SearchSecurity

SearchNetworking

SearchDataCenter

SearchDataManagement

Close