First phase of new CESG IA certification scheme underway

IT technical skills

First phase of new CESG IA certification scheme underway

Warwick Ashford

The first candidates have begun the new CESG Information Assurance Certification Scheme, according to appointed certification organisation, The APM Group.

This is the first phase in developing a new certification scheme for professionals working in information assurance (IA) in partnership with the government’s IA agency CESG.

The agency has developed a framework for certifying IA specialists who meet competency and skill requirements for specified IA roles.

The purpose of certification is to enable better matching between public sector requirements for information assurance specialists and the competencies of the staff or contractors undertaking common IA roles.

Candidates trialling the new certification scheme are being tested at practitioner, senior practitioner and lead practitioner levels for six roles, including IA auditor, communications security officer, IT security officer, and security architect.

Pilot candidates are IA specialists who want independent assessment of their skills and competencies in their chosen roles.

Improved information assurance skills, knowledge and professionalism are objectives of the national IA strategy and the cybersecurity strategy.

The APM Group said there are a limited number of places available in the pilot phase, but the scheme will be launched fully in early 2012.

Photo: Thinkstock

Email Alerts

Register now to receive IT-related news, guides and more, delivered to your inbox.
By submitting your personal information, you agree to receive emails regarding relevant products and special offers from TechTarget and its partners. You also agree that your personal information may be transferred and processed in the United States, and that you have read and agree to the Terms of Use and the Privacy Policy.

COMMENTS powered by Disqus  //  Commenting policy