IEEE honours contribution of founding BCS president


IEEE honours contribution of founding BCS president

Justin Richards

Maurice Wilkes, a founding member of the British Computer Society and its first president, has been awarded the IEEE Computer Society 60th Anniversary Award along with David Parnas of the Software Quality Research Laboratory at the University of Limerick.

The award recognises individuals who have been responsible for a fundamental contribution to computer science and engineering. Award judges focus on the originality of a contribution, as well as its impact on computing, engineering and society.

The combined award citation reads, "For their seminal contributions to the discipline of computing. Maurice Wilkes pioneered microprogramming, which enabled very large and complex hardware structures to be implemented reliably and systematically."

Commenting on the award, current BCS president Nigel Shadbolt said, "The BCS is thrilled and delighted that Maurice Wilkes has received this very special award from the IEEE Computer Society. He was not only a pioneer in computer science he was one of the founders and first president of the BCS 50 years ago. His contributions have been immense and long lasting."

Related Topics: IT strategy, VIEW ALL TOPICS

Email Alerts

Register now to receive IT-related news, guides and more, delivered to your inbox.
By submitting your personal information, you agree to receive emails regarding relevant products and special offers from TechTarget and its partners. You also agree that your personal information may be transferred and processed in the United States, and that you have read and agree to the Terms of Use and the Privacy Policy.

COMMENTS powered by Disqus  //  Commenting policy