Nominations sought for BCS awards


Nominations sought for BCS awards

John Kavanagh

People who have made a significant contribution to IT are being sought by the BCS for its prestigious Lovelace Medal and Roger Needham Award.

Previous Lovelace Medal winners have included Linux developer Linus Torvalds, mouse inventor Doug Engelbart, Adobe co-founder John Warnock and grid computing pioneers Ian Foster and Carl Kesselman.

The Roger Needham Award, sponsored by Microsoft Research, is for distinguished computer science research completed in the UK in the past 10 years. It was established last year in memory of the former head of Cambridge University's computing laboratory and founder director of Microsoft's Cambridge research centre.

The deadline for nominations is 20 December.

E-mail: or

Related Topics: IT strategy, VIEW ALL TOPICS

Email Alerts

Register now to receive IT-related news, guides and more, delivered to your inbox.
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

COMMENTS powered by Disqus  //  Commenting policy