Oasis aims to simplify SOA development

Oasis, the international standards consortium, is aiming to ease the development of applications based on a Service Orientated Architecture (SOA).

Oasis, the international standards consortium, is aiming to ease the development of applications based on a Service Orientated Architecture (SOA).

Oasis has formed the Open Composite Services Architecture (Open CSA) member section, a new initiative to advance standards that simplify Service Oriented Architecture application development.

Open CSA will promote the further development and adoption of the organisation’s Service Component Architecture (SCA) and Service Data Objects (SDO) families of specifications, which will be provided to the community royalty free.

SCA helps organisations more easily design and transform IT assets into reusable services that can be rapidly assembled to meet changing business requirements. SDO lets application programmers uniformly access and manipulate data from heterogeneous sources, including relational databases, XML data sources, web services, and enterprise information systems.

Both SCA and SDO were created by the Open SOA Collaboration, an informal group of 18 software providers. It selected Oasis as the most effective venue for advancing SCA and SDO through the open standardisation process.

"Oasis appreciates the work of the Open SOA Collaboration to see these specifications through their incubation stage and then contribute them into the open standards process," said OASIS CEO Patrick Gannon.

"Advancing this work within Oasis will enable the SCA and SDO specifications to receive input from a broader international community of software developers, systems integrators, and users.”

He said, “The Open CSA Member Section will be able to co-ordinate the standardisation of multiple specifications, provide education, and promote implementation in order to achieve the most extensive industry adoption of this work."

The Open CSA Member Section will oversee several new Oasis Technical Committees for the SCA and SDO families of specifications.

Members of the Open CSA Member Section include Active Endpoints, Avaya, BEA Systems, Hitachi, IBM, Oracle, Primeton, Progress Software, Red Hat, Rogue Wave Software, SAP, SOA Software, Sun Microsystems, TIBCO, Xcalia, and others.

Related article: Energy group gets flexible with SOA

Related article: Irish Life trades up on interoperability

Comment on this article: [email protected]




Read more on Web software