Everywoman announces 2017 FDM Everywoman in Tech Awards finalists

Everywoman has announced the women who are finalists in the 2017 FDM Everywoman in Tech Awards.

The Awards are held each year by Everywoman to showcase and celebrate the many women who are making a difference in the technology sector.

Women of all levels across the IT sector are acknowledged as part of the awards, including women who have been in the industry for years, students or startup entrepreneurs, each who have either made huge strides in their career and the industry or who have the potential to make a huge impact on the sector.

A panel of technology experts chose the 33 finalists from the hundreds of entries originally submitted.

Maxine Benson, co-founder of Everywoman, said: “Seven years ago we began to showcase the  exceptional women working in technology in response to the industry’s concern over a lack of female talent and role models. Today we are delighted to see the gender divide closing, but despite this our Awards continue to play an important part in celebrating role models at every stage of the journey from students up to senior leaders. The calibre and quality of this year’s nominations was impressive with all those nominated demonstrating a commitment to making a difference not only within their organisations but within local communities, schools and the future of the technology sector.”

The finalists for this year’s FDM Everywoman in Technology Awards are:

Rising Star Award for a woman under the age of 26 who has excelled in her tech career and contribution to the sector, sponsored by T-Systems.

  • Jade Carlotta-Jones, software engineer for BP
  • Gabrielle Corria, resource and recruitment lead at CGI
  • Charlotte Hutchinson, technical consultant for IBM Cloud at IBM

Team Leader Award for a woman who has greatly contributed to her organisations success through teamwork, sponsored by Bank of America Merrill Lynch.

  • Silke Eggert, global head of opportunity programme management and demand management at Vodafone Group Services Limited
  • Lisa Reed, development team manager at Sage
  • Catriona Simmonds, director of business architecture at American Express

Software Engineer Award for a woman who has used software engineering to make a difference, sponsored by American Express.

  • Maxine Glennerster, senior developer at Deloitte Digital
  • Elizabeth Irwin, insight analyst for QueryClic
  • Lisa Kelly, principal technical lead at BP International

The One to Watch Award  for an individual under 20 who has been encouraging girls to study science, technology, engineering and maths (Stem), sponsored by CA Technologies.

  • Kodi Gledhill, engineering apprentice at Coca-Cola European Partners
  • Ellora James, student at Wick High School
  • Amy Naden, student at the Royal Masonic School for Girls

Leader Award for a woman in a senior technology role in an organisation who is making a contribution to the firm’s strategic direction, sponsored by BP.

  • Dana Berceanu, head of connectivity and security practice at Vodafone Group Services Limited
  • Alice Cooper, global head of credit and interest rates derivatives IT at BNP Paribas
  • Vicky Higgin, head of corporate information services at National Grid

Academic Award for a woman in academia who has made a contribution and long-term impact to Stem sponsored by Dell.

  • Muffy Calder, vice-principal and head of the college of science and engineering at the University of Glasgow
  • Semali Perera, professor of chemical engineering at the University of Bath
  • Sarah Spurgeon, professor of control engineering and head of the department of electronic and electrical engineering at the University College London

Start-up Founder of the Year Award for an inspirational woman who has founded a startup business, sponsored by Barclays.

  • Nell Bennett, co-founder and design director of doppel
  • Sophie Deen, founder and CEO of Bright Little Labs
  • Sarah Hesz and Katie Massie–Taylor, founders of Mush

Innovator Award for a woman who is using technology creatively, sponsored by Equiniti.

  • Kim Antoniou, founder of Kafoodle
  • Kate Newhouse, CEO of  Doctor Care Anywhere
  • Megan Lucero, data journalism editor for The Times and Sunday Times

Entrepreneur Award  for the owner or operator of a tech business which aims to inspire others to start a technology venture, sponsored by Arm Holdings.

  • Emily Brooke, founder and CEO of Blaze
  • Sarah McVittie and Donna North, co-Founders of Dressipi
  • Joanne Smith, group CEO of RecordSure

Digital Star Award for a woman excelling in a digital role, sponsored by CGI

  • Ljiljana Holden, lead software engineer at Aviva
  • Chi Igboaka, global head of performance marketing at Travelex
  • Amanda Mulquiney, digital marketing manager at Maginus

Inspiration Award for a man or woman who is committed to encouraging and progressing women working in tech, sponsored by VMware.

  • Beverley Dean, founder and CEO at Special iApps C.I.C.
  • Mivy James, head of consulting – national security at BAE Systems Applied Intelligence
  • Sophie Newton, COO of Brainlabs

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on February 9 2017.

The Awards ceremony will follow the annual Everywoman in Technology Forum, supported by partners Dell and Worldpay, where 600 business leaders and tech professionals will take part in a day of career building workshops specifically for women in the technology industry.

Speakers will include:

  • Nick Jenkins – founder ofcom
  • Karen Quintos – executive vice president and chief customer officer at Dell
  • Ariane Gorin – senior vice president and general manager atExpedia 
  • Fatima Zada – director of technology and innovation at Harvey Nichols 
  • Niki Dow – senior director, technical communications at ARM
  • Annemie Ress – founder of PurpleBeach 
  • Chi Onwurah – shadow minister for culture and the digital economy
  • Stephanie Davies – director and founder ofLaughology 
  • Richard Davies – director atI Like Mondays 
  • Shivvy Jervis – tech and digital futurist
  • Kate Jack – head of UK, innogy Innovation Hub
  • Elspeth Briscoe, founder and CEO, MyOnlineSchool