New Year's honours for IT stalwarts

Chris Hipwell

Chris Hipwell

The IT world has been recognised in the New Year's Honours List, with four major honours going to key IT players.

Maurice Wilkes, designer of the pioneering Edsac computer, received a knighthood, as did Tony Hoare of Oxford University whose early work included the design of programming languages and the development of Algol. A knighthood also went to Amstrad founder Alan Sugar.

Steve Shirley, who founded the original all-women software company Freelance Programmers and is a benefactor of IT's livery company the Worshipful Company of Information Technologists, is appointed a dame.

A further accolade for work undertaken at Cambridge University Computer Laboratory comes with the award of an MBE to John Daugman, whose research into iris recognition is likely to become a key technology in the security systems of the 21st century.

Richard Susskind, a leading authority on the legal implications of IT, received an MBE. Other MBEs went to Robert Hopgood, for services to computer science, and Stephen Grand and Alan Rickman, both cited as Millennium Product designers.

Email Alerts

Register now to receive IT-related news, guides and more, delivered to your inbox.
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

COMMENTS powered by Disqus  //  Commenting policy