Internet nominated for Nobel Peace Prize


Internet nominated for Nobel Peace Prize

Warwick Ashford

The internet is among a record 237 nominees for the 2010 Nobel Peace Prize, supported by 2003 winner Shirin Ebadi and founder of the $100 laptop project Nicholas Negroponte.

Others on the shortlist include Russian human rights activist Svetlana Gannushkina and Chinese activist Liu Xiaobo, according to the BBC.

The final list was decided this week by the Norwegian Nobel Committee, which sifted through the thousands of nominations received.

The Nobel Institute said the announcement of this year's laureate will be made on 8 October and the prize amount is likely be the same as in recent years.

The 2009 prize of $1.4m was awarded to US president Barack Obama, but it is not known who would receive the money if the internet were to win in 2010.

According to Internet for Peace, an organisation set up to support the nomination, digital culture has laid the foundations for a new kind of society that is advancing dialogue, debate and consensus through communication.

The organisation's manifesto claims that democracy has always flourished where there is openness, acceptance, discussion and participation.

"That's why the internet is a tool for peace why the why the next Nobel Peace Prize should go to the net. A Nobel for each and every one of us," it says.

Email Alerts

Register now to receive IT-related news, guides and more, delivered to your inbox.
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

COMMENTS powered by Disqus  //  Commenting policy