FDM everywoman in tech awards launches 2021 nominations

Now entering its 11th year, the FDM everywoman in technology awards 2021 is open for nominations.

The annual event aims to shine a light on women making a contribution to the technology industry, showcasing them as role models for up-and-coming technology workers.

With the coronavirus pandemic impossible to ignore, everywoman has launched this year’s awards while also putting an emphasis on how important technology will be going forward, as well as the increased pressure the outbreak has put on the sector.

Maxine Benson, co-founder of everywoman said: “The 2021 everywoman in technology awards launch against the backdrop of a truly exceptional year, in which technology came to the rescue of many a business, allowing organisations to continue to operate even as the country was locked down.

“As we adjust to a new normal, it is our belief that this rapidly growing sector will offer even more extraordinary and exciting opportunities for women, particularly as new products, platform and services emerge. With FDM, our aim is that these awards are used as a platform to leverage the role models that are needed to attract the finest female talent of the future.”

Currently women only make up around 17% of people working in the UK’s tech sector, and many cite a lack of visible and accessible role models as a reason few women choose to pursue a tech role, making initiatives that showcase industry role models extremely important.

As part of this year’s nominations launch, everywoman announced three new categories for the awards including the Digital Transformation Leader Award, the Tech for Good Award and the CTO/CIO of the Year Award.

The categories for this year are as follows:

  • Digital Transformation Leader Award, for a woman who has been in charge of the digital transformation of a firm.
  • Tech for Good Award, for a woman who has used technology for a good cause.
  • CTO/CIO of the Year Award, for a female CIO or CTO at the top of their leadership game.
  • Academic Award for a woman in academia whose contribution to tech could have a long-term impact on the sector.
  • One to Watch Award, sponsored by Computacenter, for a young woman between the ages of 11 and 18 who is encouraging others to study science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM).
  • Apprentice Award, for a young woman making progress in her early career.
  • Rising Star Award, for a young women, aged 26 or below, making strides in their technology career.
  • Digital Star, for an expert woman in a digital role,
  • Software Engineer Award, sponsored by NatWest, for a woman who has created something new in the software engineering field.
  • Team Leader Award, for a woman who has proven herself a great team leader.
  • Entrepreneur Award, for a woman who runs a technology business, acting as a role model for others to do the same.
  • Innovator Award, sponsored by American Express, for a woman using technology in a new and creative way.
  • Leader Award, sponsored by BP, for a woman in a senior tech role who is contributing to a business’s strategy.
  • International Inspiration Award, for a man or woman based outside of the UK working to increase diversity in tech.
  • Male Agent of Change Award, for a man using their privilege to advance the women in tech agenda.

Nominations for the everywoman in technology awards are open until 12 October 2020.

Data Center
Data Management