Everywoman announces 2022 tech awards finalists

The finalists for the 2022 FDM everywoman in Technology Awards have been announced prior to the awards ceremony in March.

Each year the professional women’s network, in partnership with FDM, showcases women who are successful in the fields of science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) through its Everywoman in Technology Awards and Forum.

This year marks the 12th year of the FDM Everywoman in Tech Awards, with judges choosing more than 80 people making a difference in the tech sector as finalists.

Not only is there a lack of women in the technology sector, with recent research from BCS finding women make up only 17% of IT specialists in the UK, but many believe that by addressing the UK’s lack of women in tech the skills gap could also start to narrow.

Everywoman aims to use its Tech Awards to showcase role models in the technology sector, making people more aware of what is involved in technology roles and increasing representation of diverse talent in the field.

Reflecting the fast pace of the tech sector, the Cyber Security Award joined as a new category in 2022, and the Tech for Good Award and CIO of the Year Award were open to international nominations.

Maxine Benson, co-founder of Everywoman, said: “We are thrilled to be celebrating the achievements of all our finalists, each one is a role model whose accomplishments we know will inspire future generations to pursue a career in tech.

“Their stories showcase the vital advancements technology is making towards saving, transforming, and improving lives while also positively impacting on the planet and ensuring the future of tech grows ever more diverse and inclusive.”

The finalists for the 2022 Everywoman in tech awards are as follows:

Academic Award

  • Esther Rodriguez-Villegas, professor, Imperial College London; co-founder and CEO, Acurable
  • Gemma Pybus, lecturer, University of West London
  • Professor Rachel Oliver, professor of materials science, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Sarah Morris, head of Digital Investigation Unit and senior lecturer, Cranfield University
  • Tamsin King, deputy director of central timetabling, Imperial College

Apprentice Award

  • Anna Solek, software engineer, JP Morgan
  • Chloe Bishop, apprentice software engineer, American Express
  • Elizabeth Hillyard, apprentice software developer, FedEx Express
  • Khadija Al-Selini, software engineer, IBM
  • Pia Crawford Read, cloud engineer, Willis Towers Watson
  • Veronica Wadhwa, technology analyst, Accenture

CTO/CIO of the Year Award sponsored by Accenture

  • Aislinn McBride, digital services CTO, Kainos
  • Elisa Patrizi, head of operations and maintenance, INWIT
  • Hazel Olivier, CTO, TradeCrediTech
  • Jacqui Lipinski, CIO and director of digital and technical services, Royal College of Arts
  • Sadia Ahmed, CIO, Bx Technologies Limited
  • Vidya Laxman, technology director, Tesco

Cyber Security Award

  • Carina Harrison, senior information security manager, American Express
  • Carol Raynes, head of cyber security, Royal London Group
  • Fay Sears, cyber security supply chain assurance, SSE
  • Mia Axtell, senior security analyst, ARM
  • Saba Mohammed, vice president – cybersecurity education program lead, JP Morgan
  • Sema Yuce, director, Truth ISC Technology and Security Consultancy Ltd

Digital Star Award – sponsored by Lloyds Banking

  • Abigail Allman, chief marketing officer, ERP Dynamics
  • Gemma Hackney, senior ADAM engineer, Royal London
  • Gigi Taguri, director of medical technology, LloydsPharmacy Online Doctor
  • Kaveta Mistry, solution leader – B2C e-commerce, McKesson UK
  • Laveena Ramchandani, testing and quality assurance lead, EasyJet
  • Priyanka Gangishetty, senior Azure customer engineer, Microsoft

Digital Transformation Leader Award – sponsored by Bupa

  • Gill Glover, head of evergreen and M365 product owner, Lloyds Banking Group
  • Helen Hancox, software engineering manager, Accenture
  • Malgorzata (Margo) Urban, director of product, Anthony Nolan
  • Neeta Mundra, financial services transformation adviser, Salesforce
  • Polly Caldwell, product lead, Auto Trader
  • Silvia Diogo, partner | technology strategy, innovation and transformation | financial services, KMPG LLP
  • Dr Sophia Fannon-Howell, principal data and analytics – B2B and emerging solutions, BP

Entrepreneur Award sponsored by Howden Group Holdings

  • Alexandra Depledge MBE, founder and CEO, Resi
  • Jordan Brompton, co-founder and CMO, myenergi
  • Joy Foster, founder and CEO, TechPixies
  • Melinda Nicci, founder and CEO, Body Collective

Innovator Award sponsored by American Express

  • Alison Ettridge, chief believer (CEO), Talent Intuition Ltd
  • Anne Widdop, founding director, The Learning Loop
  • Ilana Wisby, CEO, Oxford Quantum Circuits
  • Joana Paiva, CTO and co-founder, Intelligent Lab on Fiber Limited (iLOF)
  • Rubina Singh, head of ideation delivery, Centrica

Leader Award sponsored by Twilio

  • Donna-Marie Patten, global technology infrastructure (GTI) EMEA technology delivery lead, JP Morgan Chase & Co
  • Fiona Gallagher-Payet, global director, enterprise operations engagement, Meta
  • Folashade Adetunji, release train engineer, Discover Financial Services
  • Kristina Marriott, value stream product owner, Lloyds Banking Group
  • Lois Aldington, director of data science, Deliveroo
  • Sara Jones, mobile operations director, BT plc
  • Victoria Cope, head of procurement and supply chain – major systems and equipment,

BAE Systems

Male Agent Of Change Award

  • Darren Miles, CIO, Centrica
  • Juan Villamil, CIO, Imperial College London
  • Kevin Dainty, client relationship manager, Reed Technology
  • Michael Sanders, manager director – head of macro technology, JP Morgan
  • Tom King, people strategy lead, M&G
  • Kas Arshad, analysis practice lead, Royal London

One To Watch Award sponsored by

  • Imogen Mann, student, Highgate School
  • Joely To, founder and CEO, Pioneer
  • Lea Button, student, Queen Anne’s School

Rising Star Award – sponsored by SUSE

  • Amber Swift, performance insights analyst, Northumbrian Water
  • Giorgia Litwin, sales specialist – adaptive organisation, Fujitsu
  • Harshitha Shivakumar, technical consultant, IBM
  • Rituja Rao, management consultant, Capco
  • Roxanne Sammons, software engineer, JP Morgan
  • Tulika Agarwal, assistant manager, KPMG

Software Engineer Award – sponsored by NatWest Group

  • Emily Lawton, senior software engineer, REPL
  • Katerina Sidiropoulou, lead software developer, software engineering, Discover Financial Services
  • Kim Diep, software engineer and tech coach, Tech Returners
  • Shweta Patil, senior software engineer, IRIS Software Group

Team Leader Award sponsored by Fujitsu

  • Emma Rothschild, senior sales manager, Nordics & Benelux, Twilio
  • Jess Majekodunmi, director, Human Sciences Studio at Accenture
  • Joanne Rose, head of Salesforce platform at Centrica
  • Johanna Chant, manager IT, FedEx Express
  • Laura Magnani, solution architect and UKI technology I&D lead, Accenture
  • Liz Lutgendorff, lead insight and analysis advisor, Government Digital Service

The Tech For Good Award – sponsored by RS Components

  • Caroline Laurenson, managing director, TL Tech Ltd
  • Eleanor Harry, managing director, HACE
  • Kavitha Krishnamurthy, PMO team leader, Cognizant
  • Namrata Sharma, manager, founder and global lead, Deloitte’s Women for Ethical AI Network at Deloitte
Data Center
Data Management