Everywoman announces 2022 Women in Tech Awards winners

Network for women in business, everywoman, has announced the winners of this year’s Technology Awards, in partnership with FDM.

Each year the everywoman in Technology Awards aim to celebrate women in technology from across many sectors and organisations for their achievements.

This year’s theme from both the Awards and from the network’s Tech Forum was “people, purpose, planet” – co-founders of everywoman, Maxine Benson and Karen Gill, explained at the everywoman Tech Forum this theme was chosen to reflect the human energy it takes to fuel the tech sector, the sector’s ability to solve so many of the world’s problems, and the purpose people who are part of the industry feel.

The pair also highlighted the importance of role models in the sector to encourage more women to choose tech roles, especially as technology is becoming an increasingly important part of people’s lives, making it essential that diverse teams are involved in the development of technologies used by everyone.

Maxine Benson, co-founder of everywoman, said: “The FDM everywoman in Technology Awards are both a recognition and a celebration of the impact women are having on the technology industry worldwide.

“Each winner is a role model whose accomplishments will inspire future generations to pursue a career in tech. Their remarkable achievements showcase the vital advancements technology is making towards saving, transforming, and improving lives, while also positively impacting the planet and ensuring the future of tech grows ever more diverse and inclusive.”

The winners of this year’s FDM everywoman in technology awards were as follows:

Academic Award

  • Rachel Oliver, professor of materials science, University of Cambridge

Apprentice Award – sponsored by SSE

  • Khadija Al-Selini, software engineer, IBM

CTO/CIO of the Year Awardsponsored by Accenture

  • Jacqui Lipinski, CIO, and director of digital and technical services, Royal College of Arts

Cyber Security Award sponsored by Avast

  • Fay Sears, cyber security supply chain assurance, SSE

Digital Star Award – sponsored by Lloyds Banking Group

  • Gigi Taguri, director of medical technology, LloydsPharmacy Online Doctor

Digital Transformation Leader Award – sponsored by Bupa

  • Neeta Mundra, financial services transformation director, Salesforce

Entrepreneur Awardsponsored by Howden Group

  • Joy Foster, founder and CEO, TechPixies

Innovator Award sponsored by American Express

  • Rubina Singh, head of ideation delivery, British Gas

Leader Awardsponsored by Twilio

  • Sara Jones, mobile operations director, BT plc

Male Agent of Change Award

  • Darren Miles, chief information officer, Centrica

One To Watch Awardsponsored by Computacenter

  • Lea Button, first-year Computer Science student, The University of Sheffield

Rising Star Awardsponsored by SUSE

  • Tulika Agarwal, assistant manager, KPMG

Software Engineer Award – sponsored by NatWest Group

  • Kim Diep, software engineer and tech coach, Tech Returners

Team Leader Awardsponsored by Fujitsu

  • Jess Majekodunmi, director, Human Sciences Studio, Accenture

The Tech for Good Award – sponsored by RS Components

  • Kavitha Krishnamurthy, PMO team leader, Cognizant

The Woman of the Year 2022 was Eleanor Harry, managing director, HACE (Data Changing Child Labour), who founded the startup to use data analytics to help companies make decisions to reduce child labour. She is also an advocate for women in technology, doing what she can to increase female representation in the sector.

Data Center
Data Management