Everywoman: The finalists and the tech forum

The finalists for the 2020 FDM everywoman in Technology Awards have been announced prior to the awards ceremony and everywoman Tech Forum in March 2020.

Every year the woman’s network, everywoman, holds an awards ceremony to celebrate the amazing women in the technology sector, which often runs alongside the everywoman in Tech Forum where female technology leaders gather to network and develop in their roles in the tech sector.

Last year’s forum was focused on closing the divide between art and tech, with experts discussing the connection between the artistic and the technical, as well as the importance of role models in encouraging others into the sector.

This year’s forum, which takes place on Wednesday March 4 ahead of International Women’s Day, will cover a number of topics including building teams in the age of the gig economy, building a mentoring culture and the importance of male allies.

Following the Tech Forum will be the everywoman awards, held in partnership with FDM, in association with The Tech She Can Charter.

As the 10th annual everywoman in tech awards, the theme for this year’s award ceremony is celebrating the last 10 years of achievement for women in tech, and aims to showcase people in the science, technology, engineer and maths (STEM) sector who have done what they can to be visible STEM role models.

Maxine Benson, co-founder of everywoman said: “With Research showing only 22% of students can name a famous female working in technology, compared to two thirds who can name a famous man, the need for relatable, role models has never been greater.  In our 10th anniversary year, this year’s finalists and their stories are diverse, inspirational and empowering and will an important part in changing this narrative.”

The 2020 FDM everywoman in Technology award finalists are as follows:

Academic Award – sponsored by Lloyds Banking Group

    • Esther Rodriguez Villegas, Professor of Slow Power Electronics, Imperial College London and Founder of Acurable, from London
    • Marcelle McManus, Professor of Energy & Environmental Engineering, Co-director of the centre of sustainable and circular technology, University of Bath, from Bath
    • Professor Elena Rodriguez-Falcon, President & Chief Executive, NMITE, from Hereford

One to Watch Award – sponsored by Computacenter

    • Aoibheann Mangan, Student, Mount St. Michael Claremorris, from Claremorris
    • Avye Couloute, Student, Surbiton High School, from London
    • Elizaveta Sheremetyeva, Student, Oxford High School GDST, from Oxford

Apprentice Award

    • Hannah Hargreaves, Customer Experience Manager, Openreach, from Blackburn
    • Kelsey Jones, Byte Business Operations Manager, Fujitsu, from London
    • Lori French, Emerging Technology Software Developer, IBM UK Ltd, from London
    • Akua Apeagyei, Engineer Apprentice, Lyst, from London

Rising Star Award – sponsored by T-Systems

    • Agnes Firth, Senior Associate, PWC, from Manchester
    • Andreea Monu, Business Analyst, Royal Bank of Scotland, from Edinburgh
    • Areefih Ghaith, Account Manager, CGI, from Epsom
    • Ekaterini Tasiopoulou, Business Development, Europe, IBM UK Ltd, from London
    • Heidi Thiemann, Director, Space Skills Alliance, from Coventry

Digital Star – sponsored by CGI

    • Caryn Tan, Responsible AI Manager, Accenture, from London
    • Lauren Mangan, Group Director of Digital Client Experience, Hyperion, from London
    • Rachelle Mills, CEO & Co-founder, Karelnn, from London
    • Tara Annison, Product Owner – Platform, Elliptic, from London

Software Engineer Award – sponsored by NatWest

    • Adele Churchill, Software Engineer Lead, Capgemini, from Wirral
    • Natasha Wright, DevOps Senior Manager, Accenture, from London
    • Rebecca Baker, Senior Software Engineer, CGI, from London
    • Sabrina Aubert, MAD Service Owner (Mobile Applications DevOps), BP International, from Sunbury

Team Leader Award

    • Hekla Helgadottir, Scrum Master, American Express, from Burgess Hill
    • Jacqueline Nisbet, Engineering Lead, Run Service Team, Core Platforms, Lloyds Banking Group, from Edinburgh
    • Jane Chand, Lead Product Manager, Tesco Stores Ltd, from Hertfordshire
    • Jessica White, Senior Developer, Experian, from Nottingham
    • Kelly Diamond, Principal Product Manager, Sainsburys, from London
    • Myra Fulton, Director of Engineering, Skyscanner, from Glasgow
    • Rachael Graham, Director, CTIO strategy and governance, Openreach, from London
    • Sara Jones, Senior Manager – Mobile Enhanced Services, BT Plc, from Bristol

Entrepreneur Awardsponsored by Hyperion

    • Carla Brown, Director, Game Doctor, from Gloucester
    • Colleen Wong, Founder, Techsixtyfour, from Teddington
    • Jo Wimble-Groves, Co-founder & Business Director, Active Digital, from Lamberhurst

Innovator Award sponsored by American Express

    • Genevieve Leveille, Founder & CEO, AgrilLedger, from Saint Ouen
    • Hena Jalil, IT Digital & Data, Openreach, from London
    • Lucy Cooper, Managing Director, Accenture, from London
    • Rebecca Bright MBE, Founder & Director, Therapy Box, from London
    • Sepideh Chakaveh, CEO & Founder, Pixsellar, from Ascot

Leader Award – sponsored by BP

    • Anna Harrigan, Technology Consulting Senior Manager, Accenture, from Edinburgh
    • Debbie Street, Head of Service Transition, UK&I, Fujitsu, from London
    • Elena Karpathakis, Director, National Infrastructure, Openreach, from London
    • Juliette French, Core Platforms Lead, Lloyds Banking Group ,from London
    • Luisa Moisio, R&D Programme Manager, RSSB, from London
    • Wendy Warham, VP Digital Transformation & Innovation, UK&I, Fujitsu, from London

International Inspiration Award – sponsored by SUSE Software Solution

    • Janet Lawrence, Director | Corporate Program Management Office, Experian, from Costa Mesa (USA)
    • Jessie Haugh, Chief Operating Officer, AbleGamers, from Winchester
    • Mansata Kurang, Founder, VR Revival, from Feltham
    • Izzy Obeng, Founding Director, Foundervine, from Ambleside

Male Agent of Change Award

    • Duncan Greenwood, VP & General Manager, NEMEA, VMware, from Staines – Upon – Thames
    • Ilker Yaman, Head of Technology, Run the Bank, Barclays Bank, from Canary Wharf
    • Jamie Samaha, Senior Vice President, Data & Services, Mastercard, from London
    • Phill Wallace, Technology, Managing Director, Oracle Business Group, Accenture, from London
    • Rick Kelley, Vice President of Global Marketing Solutions – Gaming, Facebook, from Dublin
    • Stephen Koch, Managing Director – Risk Technology and Gary Ford, IT Director, J.P. Morgan, from London

Computer Weekly readers can book discounted tickets for the everywoman Tech Forum using the discount code DP10.

Data Center
Data Management