The net's boys-only club

Downtime has no objection in principle to Verisign, the long-time operator of the .com domain, having a dinner for its mates from the internet. But it does have some quibbles about who it chooses to bless as “.com honorees”.

Among the 25 (well, there’s an arbitrary number for you, apparently chosen mainly because Verisign thinks it’s 25 years since the net went commercial), the only non-US bods are Tim Berners-Lee and eBay’s Pierre Omidyar. It is also resolutely a boys-only club.

Here is the full list as supplied by Verisign. AOL (Steve Case); Alibaba Group; Amazon (Jeff Bezos); Andy Grove; Apple (Steve Jobs); Baidu; Cisco (John Chambers); Craigslist (Craig Newmark); eBay (Pierre Omidyar); eTrade; Facebook (Mark Zuckerberg); Google (Larry Page & Sergey Brin); Infosys; Jim Clark; Microsoft/MSN/Gates Foundation (Bill Gates); MySpace; Napster (Shawn Fanning); Netscape (Marc Andreessen); Paypal; Sun Microsystems, Inc. (Scott McNealy); Tim Berners-Lee; Twitter; Vint Cerf; Yahoo, (Jerry Yang and David Filo); and, YouTube.

Downtime thinks Niklaas Zenstrom and Janus Friis, the founders of Skype, deserve a place, as does Meg Whitman, who made Omidyar a billionaire. Anyone else you think is more deserving?