xtock - Fotolia

UKtech50 2017: Vote for the most influential person in UK IT

Tell us who you think should be chosen as the most influential person in the UK tech scene for 2017 by submitting your vote now

Computer Weekly has launched the eighth annual UKtech50, the definitive list of the real movers and shakers in UK IT – the CIOs, industry executives, public servants and business leaders driving forward the UK’s digital economy.   

Whoever tops the list will be the person who, in the opinion of our judges and readers, holds the most influence over the future of the UK IT sector in 2017 – and hence the future of IT professionals across the country.

Our expert judging panel has selected a shortlist of 50 leaders – shown below – chosen from more than 120 nominations that were suggested by readers, the Computer Weekly team, and the judges themselves. Now we want your vote on who you think deserves the coveted top spot on this year’s list.

This year’s nominations are clearly influenced by the UK’s looming departure from the European Union (EU), with candidates both in policy roles, as well as those leading large IT projects influenced by Brexit, featuring on the list. There are also several new faces in the top 50, which highlights changes in the private and public sectors over the past year.

We will reveal the winner at an event in London on 6 December, where we count down the list to announce the most influential person in UK IT over the next 12 months. The event will include speakers from several organisations, such as the Financial Times, Global Radio, Gala Leisure, Lloyds Banking Group and the BBC, among others. You can find out more about this year's UKtech50 event and register to attend by clicking here.

Read more about UKtech50 2017 here, and submit your vote now – simply click on the button next to the person you wish to vote for, and click the Submit button below the list. Voting closes at 5pm on 24 November 2017. 

Note: You will only be able to vote once, and subsequently the list will be hidden from view on further visits. For reference, the full list of names on the shortlist is shown below, in alphabetical order:

UKtech50 2017 shortlist

  • Angela Morrison, IT and supply chain director, Debenhams
  • Brent Hoberman, entrepreneur; chair of Founders Factory and Founders Forum
  • Caroline Nokes, minister for Government Resilience and Efficiency (including digital government)
  • Cathal Corcoran, CIO, Gatwick Airport
  • Chi Onwurah, shadow minister for industrial strategy, science and innovation
  • Christina Scott, CTO, News UK; deputy CTO, News Corp
  • Ciaran Martin, head of the National Cyber Security Centre
  • Darryl West, group CIO, HSBC
  • Dave Aron, global research director, Leading Edge Forum
  • David Davis, secretary of state for exiting the EU
  • Demis Hassabis, founder and CEO, DeepMind
  • Didier Lebrat, CTO, Sky
  • Eileen Burbidge, government special envoy for fintech; Tech City chair; VC, Passion Capital
  • Elizabeth Denham, UK information commissioner
  • Gavin Jackson, EMEA managing director, Amazon Web Services
  • Gavin Patterson, CEO, BT
  • Gerard Grech, CEO, Tech City
  • Ian Levy, technical director, National Cyber Security Centre
  • Jacky Wright, chief digital and information officer, HMRC
  • Jacqueline de Rojas, TechUK president
  • James Dyson, CEO, Dyson
  • Jane Moran, CIO, Unilever
  • Jeremy Vincent, CIO, Network Rail
  • Joanna Davinson, chief digital, data and technology officer, Home Office
  • Joanna Shields, fovernment advisor on internet safety and security
  • John Manzoni, CEO, HM Civil Service; permanent secretary, Cabinet Office
  • John Seglias, group chief digital and information officer, Defra
  • Julian David, CEO, TechUK
  • Kevin Cunnington, director general, Government Digital Service
  • Liam Maxwell, UK national technology adviser
  • Maggie Philbin, CEO, TeenTech
  • Martha Lane Fox, entrepreneur, founder of Dot Everyone
  • Matt Hancock, minister of state for digital, DCMS
  • Matthew Gould, director general for digital and media policy, DCMS
  • Matthew Postgate, chief technology and product officer, BBC
  • Mayank Prakash, chief digital and information officer, DWP
  • Mike Potter, director, Future Borders Programme
  • Morteza Mahjour, group CIO, Lloyds Banking Group
  • Nicola Mendelsohn, managing director, Facebook Europe
  • Phil Smith, Cisco UK chairman; chair of Innovate UK; chair of Tech Partnership
  • Robert Elsey, CIO, Bank of England
  • Russ Shaw, founder of TechLondonAdvocates
  • Sarah Wilkinson, CEO, NHS Digital
  • Sharon White, CEO, Ofcom
  • Sherry Coutu, angel investor; founder of ScaleUp Institute; founder of Founders4Schools
  • Simon Segars, CEO, ARM Holdings
  • Stuart Birrell, CIO, Heathrow Airport
  • Theo Blackwell, chief digital officer to the Mayor of London
  • Thomas Nielsen, chief digital officer, Deutsche Bank
  • Will Smart, CIO, NHS England



Editor's note: The final UKtech50 list will be chosen by combining the decision of the judging panel with the votes of our readers. The combined reader vote will carry the same weight as that of one judge, and will provide the UK IT professional input into the order of the list. The editor’s decision on the UKtech50 list will be final.

Read more on CW500 and IT leadership skills