Sun chooses open source leaders


Sun chooses open source leaders

Antony Savvas

Sun Microsystems has announced the five individuals selected to participate on the OpenSolaris Community Advisory Board (CAB), created to steer Sun’s OpenSolaris open source developer community towards self-governance.

Sun plans to release source code for its main Solaris 10 operating system under a common development and distribution license (CDDL) in the second quarter of 2005.

The five-member board consists of two people who were nominated and elected by the OpenSolaris pilot community. These are Al Hopper, engineer consultant from Logical Approach, and Rich Teer, an independent Solaris consultant and author of "Solaris Systems Programming".

The three other members are Roy Fielding, chief scientist at Day Software and co-founder and member of the Apache Software Foundation; Simon Phipps, Sun’s chief technology evangelist and Casper Dik, Sun senior staff engineer.

Email Alerts

Register now to receive IT-related news, guides and more, delivered to your inbox.
By submitting your personal information, you agree to receive emails regarding relevant products and special offers from TechTarget and its partners. You also agree that your personal information may be transferred and processed in the United States, and that you have read and agree to the Terms of Use and the Privacy Policy.

COMMENTS powered by Disqus  //  Commenting policy